Groups are where articles are categorized and are publicly viewable. For sensitive information that needs to be restricted, there are Private Groups. 

How to create Private Groups

When creating a group, select “Create Private Groups.”

The creator of the Private Group will automatically become a member of that group. You can view and edit members from the dropdown menu.

What actions can members take in a Private Group 

  • Post and view articles 
  • Add or remove members 
  • Delete the Private Group

You cannot convert a Private Groups to public or a public group to a Private Groups. To make the articles public, transfer the articles to a public group then delete the group.

Access restrictions

Blogs, wiki, and comments are only viewable by members invited to the Private Group. 

Webhook notifications

By default, all events for Private Groups are excluded in the webhook. 

  • To receive events for Private Groups, you must specify to receive events from the webhooks setting page
  • Any member in your Private Groups can manage the webhooks settings
  • Anyone (including non-members) can see if webhooks have been configured to Private Groups

Best practice: Make sure to set the webhook to a private channel! If you don’t, events will be broadcasted to a public channel for your entire team to see, delegitimizing the purpose of the Private Group. 

Note

  • While the contents on Private Groups aren’t viewable to non-members, the name of the group and its members are viewable
  • Your uploaded images will get a hashed URL but there is no further restriction on its accessibility
Did this answer your question?